About IT Services

The IT Services Department (ITS) is split into 4 support teams that deliver a number of vital services to the University. IT Services follow a global standard for the delivery of IT to the University of Suffolk, called the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)This provides us guidelines on best working practices and the delivery of IT Service Management.

The department's structure is pictured below:

IT Service Desk

The Service Desk team are the Single Point of Contact (SPoC) for all users at the University of Suffolk and are classed as a 1st/2nd line support team. Their overall responsibility is to process requests and issues submitted by end users and being the public face of the IT Services Department.

The team are based in the Infozone on the Ipswich Campus, where you will find the IT Service Desk. Here we deal with all walk-in queries, provide telephone support and process user enquiries via our online ticketing system "iTop". This system allows us to create, track and respond to all of our users queries. When an email is sent to the group email address "itservicedesk@uos.ac.uk", a ticket is automatically created by iTop for us to then process.

The IT Service Desk Team comprises of 4 Analysts:

Name Title Contact Details Photo
Jamie Lawrence

IT Service Desk Analyst

Jamie.Lawrence@uos.ac.uk

01473 338222

Cameron Grant IT Service Desk Analyst

Cameron.Grant@uos.ac.uk

01473 338222

Melissa Barber IT Service Desk Analyst

M.Barber@uos.ac.uk

01473 338222

James Pyke IT Service Desk Analyst

J.Pyke2@uos.ac.uk

01473 338222

 

 

Communication Services

Communication Services is the team that deals with all the Audio Visual equipment across the campus, the telephone system and works very closely with the Service Desk and Desktop Services Teams. This team is based in Sir Thomas Slade Court where the rest of IT Services are also based. 

Name Title Contact Details Photo
Andrew Farthing Communication Services Engineer

A.Farthing@uos.ac.uk

01473 338222


Enterprise Services

The Enterprise Services team are responsible for a wide range of services that keep the core IT infrastructure running. This includes but not limited to Local Area Network services, the running and maintenance of the University of Suffolk websites, e-mail platforms, file services and the bespoke account provisioning system; MESH.

This team consists of 6 members including the Enterprise Services Manager and 5 specialists who all manange varying aspects of the services we provide:

Name Title Contact Details Photo
Ben Juby Web Developer

B.Juby@uos.ac.uk

Katrina Howard Infrastructure Analyst

K.Howard@uos.ac.uk

Mark Jaggard Infrastructure Analyst

M.Jaggard@uos.ac.uk

Will Liebow Database Systems Integrator

W.Liebow@uos.ac.uk

IT Services Management Team

 

Name Title Contact Details Photo
Peter O'Rourke      Director of IT Services                      

P.Orourke@uos.ac.uk

DDI: 01473 338339

     
John Herd Head of IT

J.Herd@uos.ac.uk                              

DDI: 01473 338341

Add comment

Log in to post comments